The ACLU is a radical liberal union of over 200 staff attorneys and “thousands” of volunteer attorneys that uses the Judicial system to fundamentally change American traditions and values. The founder of the ACLU, Roger N. Baldwin stated: “I am for socialism, disarmament, and, ultimately, for abolishing the state itself… I seek the social ownership of property, the abolition of the propertied class, and the sole control of those who produce wealth. Communism is the goal.”

ACLU of NC belongs to four radical liberal political networks in North Carolina: Z Smith Reynolds Foundation, Democracy NC, Moral Mondays and Blueprint NC. Blueprint NC is the left-wing group that gained infamy with their “eviscerate, mitigate, litigate, cogitate and agitate” the state’s leadership memo in 2013.


Financials:  Source IRS 990s
Year Revenue Expenditures Net Assets
2012 $441,804 $180,489 $976,380
2013 $409,960 $217,825 $1,170,726
2014 $409,960 $217,825 $1,170,726
2015 $284,186 $228,348 $1,226,952
2016 $392,311 $238,392 $1,416,228
2017 $679,925 $300,708 $1,824,665

Scroll down to view People or Funders 

People Connections:

Person Position Time
Ann McDowell Board Member Current
Anne Gordon Board Member Current
Anne-Marie Makhulu Board Member Current
Beth Klein Board Member Current
Bill Gechtman Board Member Current
Blanca Zendejas Nienhaus Board Secretary (Foundation) Current
Bruce Elmore Board Vice President (foundation) Current
Carlos Mahoney Board National ACLU Board of Representatives (Union) Current
Christina Becker Criminal Justice Debt Fellow Current
Christopher Brook Legal Director Current
Daniel Brown Board Member (Union) Current
Dion Ranck Board Member (Union) Current
Irena Como Staff Attorney Current
J Wayne Riggins Board Member Current
Jennifer Lorenz Board Secretary (Union) Current
Jennifer Watson Marsh Board President Current
Jessica Turner Faith & Community Engagement Director Current
Jillian Brevorka Board Immediate Past President Current
Jim Cavener Board Member (Union) Current
Jimmy Creech Board Member Current
Jon Sasser Board Legal Committee Chair (Foundation) Current
Joseph Blocher Board Member Current
Karen Anderson Executive Director Current
Kevin Eason Director of Operations Current
Leah Hamilton Board Vice President (Union) Current
Lori Messinger Board Member Current
Malik Edwards Board Affirmative Action Officer Current
Manju Rajendran Board Member Current
Martin Maloney Board Member (Union) Current
Mike Meno Commuications Director Current
Mitchell Price Board Treasure Current
Molly Rivera Communications Associate Current
Patti Digh Board Member Current
Robert Elliot Board Member Current
Sarah Gillooly Policy Director Current
Seth Friedman Philanthropy Director Current
Seth Cohen Board General Counsel (Foundation) Current
Susanna Birdsong Policy Counsel Current
Taiyyaba Qureshi Board Member Current
Theresa Sharpe Board Member Current
Yazmin Garcia Rico Policy Intern Current
Brandy Hagler Board Member (Union) Former
Cindy Vogler Board Member Former
Curry First Board Secretary Former
Deborah Ross Executive Director Former
Dino Lambridis Board Member Former
Donna Mansfield Board Member Former
Emily-Mary Brown paralegal Former
Frank Goldsmith Legal Committee Chair Former
Frank Goldsmith President Former
Gerda Stein Board Member Former
Holning Lau Immediate Past President Former
Irene Godinez Vice President Former
Jason Huber Board Member Former
Jennifer Rudinger Executive Director Former
Katherine Lewis Parker Legal Director Former
Luke Largess Board Member Former
Manzoor Cheema Board Member Former
Matthew Quinn Board Member Former
Mebane Rash Attorney Former
Paula Kohut Board Treasurer Former
Raul Pinto Racial Justice Attorney Former
Ryan Rowe Campaign Organizer Former
Sarah Preston Acting Executive Director Former
Sarah Preston Policy Director Former
Shelagh Kenney Legal Director Former
Stephen Feldman Board Member Former
Terrence Wilson Public Policy Fellow Former
Tish Gay Board Secretary Former

Have an addition? Mistake? Comment?

Your email address will not be published.