NC Association of Community Development Corporations


The Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation, North Carolina’s largest funder of liberal causes, was instrumental in developing the community development corporations infrastructure in North Carolina. The Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation, Mary Babcock Reynolds Foundation and the Ford Foundation provided seed money in the early 1960’s to create the North Carolina Fund. Then, in the 1980’s Z. Smith Reynolds and Mary Reynolds Babcock Foundations funded a capacity-building project, creating two regional support positions to help local communities establish CDCs. An eastern project component was set up at Franklinton Center at Bricks, and run in conjunction with the United Church of Christ Commissions for Racial Justice.

The NCADC was active in the Moral Monday protests in North Carolina and is also a member of Blueprint NC, the radical political group organized by Z. Smith Reynolds that is best known for the 2013 memo that directed their members to eviscerate the state’s leadership.


Please scroll down to view People or FundersĀ 

People Connections:

Person Position Time
Arlene Lawson Board Member Current
Barbara Blackston Board Member Current
Brigette Rasberry Vice President/Chief Operations Officer Current
Carl Manning Board Member Current
Cathy Alston-Kearny Board Member Current
Erin Byrd Board Member Current
Fannie Corbett Board Emeritus Current
Hillary Champaign Board Member Current
John Barnes Board Member Current
Joyce Dickens Board Chair Current
LaVerne Joyner Chief Financial Officer Current
Lenwood Long Board Secretary/Treasurer Current
Mary Wackerle Communications VISTA Current
Mavis Hill Board Member Current
Resea Willis Board Member Current
Savannah Copeland Resource Development VISTA Current
Sharon Bey-Christopher Board Member Current
Susan Perry-Cole President/Chief Executive Officer Current
Thyron Williams Program Officer Current
Vivian Wan CPA Fiscal Officer Current
Abdul Rasheed President and CEO Former
Carolyn Ingram Executive Assistant Former
Chuck Poe Board Member Former
Dave Nichols Board Member Former
Delores Bailey Board Member Former
Evelyn Troy Board Member Former
Evon Smith Board Member Former
George Wallace Board Member Former
Helen McInnis Board Member Former
Jack Holtzman Policy Analyst Former
James Manning Board Member Former
John Stokes Board Member Former
Kevin Harris Board Member Former
Lea Henry Program Officer Former
Lisa Crosslin Board Member Former
Sandria Brown Receptionist/Membership Coordinator Former
Shelia Gilchrist Insurance/Resource Development Coordinator Former
Shoneca Evans Program Associate Former
Shoneca Kent Program Associate Former
Stephanie Swepson-Twitty Board Member Former

This group funded by:

Funder Year Amount Description
Kate B Reynolds Charitable Trust 2013 $27,500.00 Management development/capacity building; Program development For Twin Counties visioning and strategic planning process - community academy
Z Smith Reynolds Foundation Inc 2011 $50,000.00 General/operating support For general operating support
Mary Reynolds Babcock Foundation Inc 2006 $600,000.00
Mary Reynolds Babcock Foundation Inc 2005 $30,000.00 Program development For Hurricane Katrina Relief
Z Smith Reynolds Foundation Inc 2004 $100,000.00 General/operating support For general operating support



Address 1:
3109 Poplarwood Court

Address 2:
Suite 209




Have an addition? Mistake? Comment?

Your email address will not be published.